Wonder Mom Wednesday Blog Link Up: Back to School

WonderMomWedfinal

Hi!  I’m super excited about this new link up!  This weeks topic is “Back to School”.  School Starts In Less Than A Week!!  I can admit that I am happy about that….For more than one reason too!  First off daycare tuition will be cheaper (a huge thank you from my wallet ; )), also the kids get to get back into school mode and they will not be eating us out of house and home.  My kids were like magnets to the fridge this summer.  I know for sure that my son is having a growth spurt, because these last few weeks he has been eating out of control.  I probably shouldn’t complain, because his eating habits used to be not so great.   Before I get to the back to school stuff.  Here are a few pictures from our Summer Fun.

all of us

Tre’, Kendall and Me!

Cousins

Cousins!! Dillon, Kendall, Jr. and Tre’…Playdate!

Kendall at Chuck E Cheese

Ms. Thang! Kendall taking a break from running around Chuck E Cheese to take a pic. My first born…Love her!

Tre' at Chuck E Cheese

Prince Tre’….I just love this little man to pieces.

Now…Let’s talk about Back to school shall we? 🙂

For the most part I have done all the shopping that I need.  I have the clothes, shoes, and supplies.  I’m in and out of stores throughout the week, so I’m sure I’ll pick up some other items as needed.  Kendall (my daughter) and Tre’ (my son) are ecstatic about going to new grade levels.  Kendall’s will be in 1st grade and Tre’ in Kindergarten.  We know their teacher’s names and Meet the Teacher night is tomorrow, so we finally get to put a face with the names.  (I’ll try to take pictures and share in a later blog post)  You guys and gals know I love to take pics!  If you didn’t know now you do! 🙂

Just a small portion of what I bought for my kiddos at Old Navy.

Just a small portion of what I bought for my kiddos at Old Navy.

Below are a few tips I have for all you parents to help you get through this school year.

1.  Grocery Shopping-  Make sure you have a list in hand before entering the grocery store.  Be sure to list EVERYTHING that you will need for the week, month or etc.  (I’m usually a monthly shopper with little stops here and there.)  It sucks when you notice that you forgot something when you’ve already made it back home. (Tip:  I suggest keeping a list on the fridge, so when you run out of something, you can quickly jot it down.  Make everyone in the household aware of this, so they can do it to.)  Trust me, this will save you a lot of time later.  Don’t skip out on items that you think you will not need…Chances are if you’ve used them before you’ll need them again.

Yes...this is my actual cart from a recent shopping trip and I wasn't finished.

Yes…this is my actual cart from a recent shopping trip and I wasn’t finished.

2. Meal Planning- It can get a little hectic during school nights, so I suggest using a meal planning chart, calendar or something of that sort.  Once you use one you will wonder how you ever got along without it.  Click Here to see some examples and even download them for your personal use.  You could even use a dry erase board as well or a good ole’ plain piece of paper.

3. School Attire- IRON ahead!!!  I cannot tell you how many times I have decided to iron my kids school clothes the morning of, because I was too tired to do it in advance.  I prefer to iron a weeks worth of school clothing on the weekends.  Preferably I do it on Sundays, but whenever I get the urge I do it before I get out of the mood. 😉

This list could go on and on, but I’ll cut it short.  If you have any other tips that you would like to share, by all means please comment below.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 11:04:28

    Cute kiddoes! Happy back to school week. Thanks for linking up with us this week. Cheers!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply...I want to hear from you!

